Home > favorites, poems, readwritepoem > poem: senses old

poem: senses old

September 6, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

lost in evening mist —
chilled echoes rustling treetops
and forgotten dreams

. . .

filling all the holes and hollows
evening mist obscures the land
cold pacific breezes flowing
erase the memory of the day

but still the chill touch of the dewdrops
awakens senses old and deep
in the darkness footsteps echo
revealing half-remembered dreams

ageless timeless in the shadows
touch and sound and scent alone
connected gently all to every
a long-lost world is found again

Update (August 25, 2008): As part of one of the weekly readwritepoem prompts, about creating new poems from the “bare bones” of someone else’s poem, I submitted the bare bones of this poem:

_______ all the _____ and _______,
_______ ____ obscures the ____.
____ _______ breezes _______
erase the ______ of the ___.

But still the _____ _____ of the ________
awakens ______ ___ and ____.
In the ________ _________ echo,
_________ half-__________ ______.

Ageless ________ in the _______,
_____ and _____ and _____ alone,
connected ______ ___ to _____,
a long-lost _____ is _____ _____.

I was honored and delighted that several poets chose to build new poems from these bones. I thoroughly enjoyed their different poetic viewpoints, and I encourage you to follow these links to their poems:

  1. August 20, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Having now written my poem based on the bones of this one, thought I’d come over and check out the original. And I like it… much gentler than my final product, and with the feeling of a real personal story behind the surface images. Thanks for collaborating!

  2. throwshiswords
    August 24, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Hi lirone! Wow, I really like your poem’s reworking of the skeleton of my original. It’s especially resonant for me living now almost in the shadow of Mount Saint Helens.

  1. August 20, 2008 at 9:02 am

Leave a comment