Home > bigtentpoetry, poems > say what?

say what?

December 29, 2005 Leave a comment Go to comments

new gnu knew
so-so, so sew
two to tutu too.
bow bough! tow toe!
know no no-no!

a bit of silliness — if you can come up with an explication that actually makes any sense, i’d sure love to see it :-)

Update (May 14, 2010) I linked this poem to the Big Tent Poetry blog, where there is a weekly poetry “prompt” inviting people to submit poems on a new theme each week. This week’s theme was listening to language. I thought this old poem of mine would fit the topic well, since it is all about the sounds, not meaning. (You can read other poets’ submissions on the theme at the blog too.)

  1. May 13, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    And there are more but I won’t row (row/roe) about it.
    Good post.

  2. May 14, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Homonym poems are great fun, and so is yours.

  3. May 14, 2010 at 4:18 am

    Clever poem! Fun to read!

  4. Ana
    May 14, 2010 at 6:47 am

    this is fun :) (reminds me of the wocket on one’s pocket :P)

  5. May 14, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Very fun!

  6. May 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    You had me laughing! Thanks!

  7. Deb
    May 15, 2010 at 6:46 am

    I’ve wanted to write a poem like this myself! Fun.

  8. May 15, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Clever and a fun read!

  9. May 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    it is so fun to play with words this way!

  10. May 17, 2010 at 5:54 am

    What a great little sing-song – seems there should be a tune to go along (didn’t shoot for that to rhyme). I played with homophones a few weeks back, if you’d like to check it out, I’ll post a link below. I kept going back and editing as I’d find more words I could switch out. It really struck me at just how complicated the English language is!

    – Dina
    http://mypoeticlicense.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/playing-with-homophones/

    Thanks everyone, for your kind comments. Readers, you’ll definitely want to follow the link to Dina’s poem; it’s clever and fun! — throwshiswords

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

