Home > life in pictures, poems, visiting > iowa summer sunset

iowa summer sunset

Back in the midwest for my nephew Jake’s graduation, I had a chance to help Jeff and Dad move some of the planting equipment from one farm to another. From my position at the back of the convoy, I could ponder the old dog-sledding saying, “If you’re not the lead dog, the view never changes”, which in this case means gravel dust :-).

20140518a convoy

I also got stay overnight at the old farm, and hang out with Mike and Kitty.

20140518b mike and kitty

Taking a walk around the farm, up on the hill behind where the old house used to be, I came across an odd valve handle. I’m sure it’s been there all along, but I don’t have any memory of it. Which is strange, since I don’t know how I would have overlooked it when I was making detailed maps of the farm as a kid! I decided to leave it alone, rather than inadvertently opening (or closing) something important.

20140518c main drain

I also visited Beth and Russ’ place, where Emily and Paul showed me their new kittens. Here’s one of the shy ones – knock knock, who’s there?

20140518d kitten

Whatchoo lookin at?

20140518e kitten

But of course, the main event was Jake’s graduation. Here he is with Jeff, keeping it real after the ceremony. Congratulations!

20140518f grad

Iowa summer
chattering house wrens
discuss the sunset

20140518g sunset

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

