Home > at home, life in pictures > eating well

eating well

The great produce we have available from the farmers market has been a great inspiration for Nancy, from which I am the very lucky recipient. The latest example: savory swiss chard pancakes, which she made from a recipe from The Splendid Table public radio show.

Nancy says

“I should note, I made some modifications to the recipe. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose, and a combination of heavy cream and 2% milk. I cooked the onion/shallot/garlic down into near-mush with some butter/peanut oil and liquid smoke before adding it to the batter. It passed Dave’s I-don’t-like-raw-onion-in-any-way-shape-or-form test. I didn’t use a food processor at all. I did a rough chop on the chard and added it last. I mixed everything by hand with a flat whisk and it worked fine.”

Take my word for it, they are really yummy! We had them with some white sauce, lentils, cheese, and a few greens from the gardens. mmmmmm…

One other nice feature: you can save extras and reheat them in the toaster.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

