Home > favorites, poems, readwritepoem, throws-his-words > poem: desert sky circles

poem: desert sky circles

20090323

desert sky circles:
sunset’s red rainbow beckons
as the moon rises

Lost in the desert, Throws-his-words and Fierce Cat heed Raven’s sign, a red rainbow surrounding the rising full moon, that leads them to water. The haiku is how I would write it; here is Throws-his-word’s song:

In the land of hard stones,
In the land of painted giants,
In the land of angry trees,
In the land of parched lips,

Raven, where is the laughing grass?
Raven, where are the sleeping trees?
Raven, where are the deer and the buffalo?
Raven, where are the singing streams?

“Wait for the sunset”, Raven whispers.
“Wait for the moonrise”, Raven whispers.
“Look me in the eye”, Raven whispers.
“See what I see and come to me.”

I linked this poem to the readwritepoem blog, where there is a weekly poetry “prompt” inviting people to submit poems on a new theme each week. This week’s theme was collaborative, to write a poem using the first line donated from another poet’s poem. I selected my line from a lovely poem by jone.

(You can read other poets’ submissions on the theme at the readwritepoem blog too. By the way, red rainbows are a real phenomenon, and the one Nancy and I saw during a neighborhood walk last weekend was the inspiration for this poem.)

As part of the prompt, I also donated the first line of one of my own poems, and I was delighted to see how other poets took it and made it their own. Check them out!

  1. March 26, 2009 at 5:37 am

    I like “sunset’s red rainbow” , it sounds well and it’s making me think..

  2. March 26, 2009 at 6:31 am

    I love this, especially the way that prose section ties the two poems together. There’s a wonderfully mythic thing going on here too. The way the first words of each line in the last stanza combine(wait-wait-look-see) is wonderful.

    In an odd coincidence, my RWP poem this week is also about being lost and desperate for water.

  3. macrush53
    March 26, 2009 at 6:45 am

    I love the combination of the two poems. Thank you for using my first line. Funny but I selected a first line from the prompt list and then discovered who’s first line it was!

  4. March 26, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Wonderful image.These lines are very good

    desert sky circles:
    sunset’s red rainbow beckons
    as the moon rises

  5. March 26, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I love the connection between the haiku and “song.” “In the land of angry trees/In the land of parched lips”–these images are so stark and striking.

  6. March 26, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Love the picture and haiku together!

  7. March 26, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Great haiku; the fact that you’ve seen red rainbows gives the verse such honesty.

  8. March 27, 2009 at 5:40 am
  9. March 27, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I love the Native theme. It seems to have gotten lost unless you look for it nowdays. And I agree with the other person. Knowing you’ve SEEN A red rainbow gives the poem power and believability.

    Thank you for sharing this with us!

  10. March 27, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Oops! Forgot to leave the link to my poem :os. Sorry for the double post.

    http://bostonsdandd.multiply.com/journal/item/266

  11. March 27, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Wonderfully done, I really like the last line of the song, ‘see what I see and come to me’ which leads to a natural repeat from the top down.

  12. March 30, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Agree with the above comments. I especially love the last line of the song and I think the haiku and the song complement each other. Like looking at the same thing through different lenses.

    -Nicole

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

