Home > favorites, poems, readwritepoem > poem: face

poem: face

20090318

pre-dawn dark silence,
looking at my (almost) face
in the bathroom mirror.
through the washcloth
my hands see more clearly

Is it just me, or maybe it’s because I’m so near-sighted without my glasses, but I know my own face much better by touch than sight. I’ll often get up early in the morning, especially in winter, wash and dress quietly, deliberately, without turning on any lights. It’s a very different place than the everyday world dominated by sight and sound.

I linked this poem to the readwritepoem blog, where there is a weekly poetry “prompt” inviting people to submit poems on a new theme each week. This week’s theme was to write a poem literally in your face. (You can read other poets’ submissions on the theme at the blog too.)

  1. Sam
    March 18, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Hello! This poem is interesting. I like the idea of hands “seeing” more clearly than eyes (I’m short-sighted too! heh).

  2. March 19, 2009 at 12:09 am

    I like the words here. Pre dawn silence is mesmerising. Nice post

  3. March 19, 2009 at 12:38 am

    I like the (almost) face, yes i can relate, I’m pretty short sighted myself…

  4. March 19, 2009 at 9:00 am

    hi! thanks for writing this week. i just had the laser eye surgery last week and was incredibly near-sighted before that. i really get the going by touch thing!

  5. March 19, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Like how the hands see more clearly than the eyes.

  6. March 19, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Hands always see more clearly..pre dawn…as I go pee in the middle of the night……I had cataract surgery last and it helps …but……….

  7. March 19, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I really like the last two lines: “through the washcloth/my hands see more clearly.” Like the sound of the words, the twist on seeing, and the truth in it. Very nice!

  8. March 19, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    hands do see more clearly…and I think sometimes they speak that way, too.

    lovely poem!

  9. March 19, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I liked this very much. Your images are beautiful in what they suggest. Loved the last two lines. So true. I’m blind without my glasses. It’s a touch feel world for us. Well done.

  10. March 19, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    the darkness speaks volumes…. i often walk around in the dark enjoying the quiet… rarely is it truly dark .. there are always street lights, stars and maybe a moon or two.. better known by touch than sight.. a beautiful thought…

  11. March 20, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I like this. Short and simple, but painting a clear picture for me (no pun intended). I love the mood of this poem.

    -Nicole

  12. Annamari
    March 21, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    “my hands see more clearly” is an amazing image even for someone with 20/20 vision, I’d say…

  13. March 22, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Like many of the previous commenters, I can definitely relate. The world before the contacts go in is quite different from the one after.

    I love the simple directness of this.

  14. March 24, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Wonderful poem and fabulous accompanying photo!! The photo would look incredible printed at a very large scale — matte black with the faint outline of the face single-coated in a semi gloss… would be awesome…

    …rob

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

