Home > favorites, poems > Talk Like a Pirate Day

Talk Like a Pirate Day

September 19, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

September 19 each year is International Talk Like a Pirate Day. In honor of the occasion, here is my pirate-talk version of the most famous haiku:

Basho’s original haiku:

old pond —
frog jumps in,
splash!

My “pirate talk” version:

shiver me timbers!
avast there, ye scurvy frog
arrr, that be my pond

that be “cap’n” dave to you, mateys

  1. August 25, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    ROFL. Thanks for sharing!! Shouldn’t it be “argh”? I’ve always seen it like that.

  2. August 25, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Or some pirates say “garr!”, like Steve the Pirate in the movie Dodgeball. :-)

  3. August 26, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    LOL, I enjoy your sense of humor.

    Hey, you know what? Speaking of which, I just wrote a political senryu about Women’s Suffrage Day (Aug. 26th)!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

