Home > favorites, poems, readwritepoem > poem: failed doubts

poem: failed doubts

My entry in a “longest haiku” contest, which I actually won with 111 letters! :-)

27 through rough patchwork fields
52 worthwhile dreams scratched, screeched, scrounged, stretched.
32 failed doubts screamed, strengthless.

These aren’t delicate, idle little daydreams. These are the big dreams that have to fight to become real, dreams that can fill your life. If you don’t have any dreams like this, maybe you should . . .

Update (March 26, 2009): As part of one of the weekly readwritepoem prompts, about creating a new poem using a first line donated from someone else’s poem, I submitted the first line of this haiku, “through rough patchwork fields”.

I was thrilled that other poets chose to use my first line. I encourage you to follow these links to their poems, and hope you enjoy their different poetic viewpoints as much as I did:

  • Tiel’s Ploughing
  • jone’s through rough patchwork fields
  • Lori’s Winds of Love
  • Advertisements
    1. March 24, 2009 at 7:58 am

      It’s a great first line, I’m glad you like what I did with it. Thanks for sharing it.

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a Reply

