Home > at home, life in pictures > ani defranco

ani defranco

Mark and Deb invited us to go see Ani DiFranco in concert. I wasn’t all that familiar with her music, but I seem to recall hearning that she is a singer/songwriter folksinger (like, say, Sarah McLachlan or the Indigo Girls), which I normally like. And since Mark and Deb had a couple of extra tickets and offered to treat us, it made it easy to be a little experimental :-)

The show was in an auditorium of the campus of UC Davis, which is a 2 or 3 hour drive away, on a Friday evening, so we all took the afternoon off to try to avoid the commuter rush. None of us had ever seen a show there, so we didn’t know what to expect. It turned out to be essentially a big gymnasium, with mats laid out over the floor. It was general admission, so it was lucky we came early, to get a good spot on the floor. While we waited, Nancy (who came well prepared :-) gave Deb a crochet lesson.

ani1

The floor filled up pretty quickly, and I guess I am getting old, ’cause I don’t know when I’ve seen more tattoos, green, blue, purple, or pink hair, and pierced body parts. I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised, given that we were on a college campus in California. Then again, there were also a few older hippies around too. (I’ll have to ask Tom and Chan if that’s what the kids look like back in Iowa these days :-). Eventually the show started, and it was really good. Mark (always prepared) brought enough earplugs for us all, for which we were very grateful!

ani2

Ani DiFranco is not just a good singer — she’s a good entertainer too. She tells interesting stories between songs, and talks with the audience. Everyone was very enthusiastic, and the band seemed to pick up on that energy.

ani4

Most concerts I’ve been to have been by musicians whose music I was already familiar with, so it was kind of fun to be hearing songs for the first time while people all around me were singing along!

ani3

Mark brought along his portable mini-recording equipment, and was able to make a CD of the show. Apparently, Ani approves of her fans doing this, since hearing a live show seems to actually encourage more record sales. So we got to listen to the show again on the drive home, this time at a reasonable volume. :-)

(Since I didn’t get any close up pictures myself, here’s a picture of Ani I “borrowed” from a fan website.)

ani5

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

